Conference on Politics, Philosophy, and Economics

SPP Journal Cover 34:1




Social Philosophy and Policy Conference on Politics, Philosophy, and Economics

Journal Published Date: 

Summer 2017

In volume 34:1, authors consider a range of questions concerning the intersection of Philosophy, Politics, and Economics (PPE). How do policies influence social equality or inequality? Historically, how was inequality justified? How can a society move toward equality and inclusion? How does individual agency work within economics and politics in the real world? How do social norms influence an agent’s choices? Is boycotting justified? What models best reflect political and economic stability? This volume features papers by leading thinkers in the area.

Our distinguished list of contributors includes:

  • Mark Pennington is Professor of Political Economy and Public Policy in the Department of Political Economy at King’s College, University of London.
  • Vernon L. Smith is Professor of Economics and Law, George L. Argyros Endowed Chair in Finance and Economics at Chapman University.
  • Bart J. Wilson is Donald P. Kennedy Endowed Chair in Economics and Law at Chapman University’s Economic Science Institute.
  • Lawrence H. White is Professor of Economics at George Mason University and Distinguished Senior Fellow of the F. A. Hayek Program for Advanced Study in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics at the Mercatus Center.
  • Gerald Gaus is James E. Rogers Professor of Philosophy at the University of Arizona, where he directs the program in Philosophy, Politics, Economics, and Law.
  • Shaun Nichols is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Arizona.
  • Linda Radzik is Professor of Philosophy at Texas A&M University.
  • James R. Otteson is Professor of Economics, Executive Director of the BB&T Center for the Study of Capitalism, and the Thomas W. Smith Presidential Chair in Business Ethics at Wake Forest University.
  • Jeffrey D. Grynaviski is Associate Professor of Political Science at Wayne State University.
  • Michael C. Munger is Director of the Philosophy, Politics, and Economics Program at Duke University.
  • Jonathan Wolff is Blavatnik Chair of Public Policy at Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford.
  • Miriam Ronzoni is Senior Lecturer in Political Theory at the University of Manchester.
  • Alan Hamlin is Emeritus Professor of Politics at the University of Manchester and Visiting Professor in the Department of Political Economy at King’s College, London.
  • Kevin Vallier is Associate Professor of Philosophy at Bowling Green State University.
  • Ryan Muldoon is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at the State University of New York at Buffalo.
  • Ryan Patrick Hanley is Mellon Distinguished Professor in Political Science at Marquette University.