The University of Arizona Foundation Board of Trustees recognizes each year one University of Arizona faculty member who has demonstrated a record of commitment and achievement in guiding the interests of donors toward support of programs at the university. The Eugene G. Sander faculty award was created in 2008. We are delighted that the 2014 award recognizes the huge effort and dedication the center’s director, David Schmidtz, has put into creating the center and growing the university’s philosophical community of scholars and teachers.